Episode 13: Skyfall is coming!

There are few things I enjoy more than sharing a good movie with someone who hasn’t seen it. I love to be able to read people enough to determine if they’d enjoy something or not and this week when Anna visited me I had the pleasure of sharing a frequently overlooked bit of comedy with her: MacGruber. I know what you’re thinking. MacGruber? How can that horrible SNL skit possibly make a seriously funny film? Well, somehow, they (Will Forte, Jorma Taccone, and John Solomon) did. I had mentioned that we should discuss the news that there is a possibility that there could be a MacGruber sequel, to which Anna let me know she’d never seen the first one; I had to remedy this. I understand you might think I’m crazy for liking this movie. It looks like it should be terrible, I admit this, but it’s not. I laughed during this film more than in quite a few other comedies during the last few years and I am an admittedly harsh judge when it comes to stupid comedies. I would just throw it out there that if you have previously discounted this film as just another piece of crap comedy please reevaluate your decision and add it to your Netfilx (or whatever service you use) queue and give it a go.

News & Gossip:

  • I can’t wait to find out what else is classic MacGruber article
  • The only thing that could make One Hit Wonder interest me is The Lonely Island writing the songs article
  • I never would have thought of pairing Zac Efron with Seth Rogan but after reading this article I’m wicked excited
  • Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy join up for a buddy cop movie article
  • Robin Williams might be The Angriest Man in Brooklyn article
  • How do we feel about Robert Pattinson playing Finnick Odair in Catching Fire? Not good. Not good at all. article

In theaters now:

  • Battleship (trailer): I (Kari) was genuinely skeptical when I heard that a film was being made out of the game Battleship and when the first trailers hit and it broke that it was going to be about aliens I almost wrote it off as being unwatchable. I’m glad I let my love of all things Friday Night Lights and huge summer blockbusters push me into seeing it. It’s a big summer blockbuster, don’t try to fool yourself into thinking it’s a piece of quality film making, it’s not. It’s a popcorn film, and I do love my popcorn films. I don’t need a lot of plot to make me happy when I choose my blockbusters. This is a great mix of Transformers and Independence Day without being too much of a copy of either film. I was never bored and I loved how they incorporated the game into the film. Taylor Kitsch and Jesse Plemons are very much Tim Riggins and Landry for all of you FNL fans and Rhianna didn’t do too bad of a job in her first film role. I would encourage anyone who loves big, over the top, blockbuster films to check this out. I rate it a 3 out of 5.
  • The Dictator (trailer): Anna was not overly impressed with The Dictator. While Sacha Baron Cohen is a great addition to films where he plays a supporting role, as the lead his humor can get old quickly. Many of the funniest moments were shown on the trailer, which can make a film that is only 83 min long seem much longer. To be fair, there are a lot of people that will find this humor quite funny, but if you’re someone who gets tired of the same old joke quickly this probably isn’t for you. Anna rated it 1 out of 5. Due to this horrible rating I have chosen not to see this.

What’s on the horizon:

  • Skyfall (trailer) November 9, 2012
  • The Great Gatsby (trailer) December 25, 2012

This weekend’s agenda:

[audio http://archive.org/download/TwoWomenOneMovieAndAMicrophone/2women1movieEp13.mp3]
Download here!

Subscribe via iTunes here!

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

Posted on May 28, 2012, in cinema, move reviews, movies, podcast, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

